Taking Action: Thinking vs. Doing

time-to-take-action

This week I have taken steps toward being more proactive in my actions, instead of just thinking about taking action, I do it. I recently moved into a new house where I am renting a room and I saw the need for a little tree trimming. I asked my new roommates if that was something our landlord would take care of and I received some doubtful looks. It was bothering me that this is the season for storms and the tree branches were hanging over the house and next to many (breakable) windows. So I went to the store, bought some loppers, came home and started trimming. It felt really good to get it done and I was proud of myself for just taking care of it and not relying on someone else to do it. I was being proactive.

I also started biking to work every day. It is something I talked about for a few years now, but never did it. Luckily, I moved about a mile and a half from work, so it’s an easier accomplishment. Nevertheless, it still takes motivation and dedication to make a goal for yourself and actually do it! I feel proud of myself and it’s good for my health. Plus I’m saving money on gas and wear on my car. After work, when I have no plans, I’ll even bike an extra 5 or 6 miles so I can get a little more exercise and enjoy the beautiful weather.

So many times, I think about things I want to do and never get around to doing them. I think about taking an amazing vacation, going back to school for writing or music, buying  a kayak, etc. These are bigger things, but even the daily thoughts of going to the gym, playing my guitar, meditating, or calling a friend. We often think about things and then either get too lazy after we get home from work or procrastinate doing the things we really want to do for less important things like watching a favorite TV show. I’m not saying that TV is bad, but I am saying to find out what is actually important to you and go do it! Life is too short to spend it on a couch every day. Stop wishing so much and make your dreams a reality! Go out and explore the world, visit your friends and family, go on vacation, treat yourself to a hobby or a class. Live, be, and do!

9 thoughts on “Taking Action: Thinking vs. Doing

  1. Amen! I think sometimes the ego-mind is greedy and wants to chew on an idea forever to keep the body and heart from the soul-food-joy of actual doing. In doing, everything becomes unpredictable and change occurs, which we as humans both love and fear. Here’s to overriding the stagnation of the mind!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Life is too short to spend it on a couch every day. Stop wishing so much and make your dreams a reality! Go out and explore the world, visit your friends and family, go on vacation, treat yourself to a hobby or a class. Live, be, and do”!

    VERY INSPIRATIONAL AND UPLIFTING POST……………………

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

