Make It Count

make it count2

Some days I allow my ego to get the best of me. I take for granted the blessings I have in life and I can become resentful, dis-interested, negative, argumentative, etc. Stuck in the moment of my moods, controlled by my emotions of discontentment I lose sight of what’s important. I begin to complain and become complacent. What’s the point? No matter what I do, work is going to suck, people with be disrespectful, no one cares, etc. Why must ride this merry-go-round? Did we forget that we have the choice to jump off or stop it?

When I am with my family, I look around at my nieces and nephews and I breathe it all in. I know they will not be this young forever. My parents are getting older and my siblings are moving farther away with their families. I realize I need to appreciate each and every moment I have with them. We may not always see eye to eye (families, I mean), but in the end that doesn’t really matter. In the end of your life, the things that matter are not your opinions, your items you’ve collected over the years, or your achievements, etc. What matters most are the people, the relationships, and the love you’ve shared.

When my partner and I are arguing over something which we cannot seem to see eye to eye on, I often come to the conclusion that we need to take a step back because it is not going to get resolved in that moment. After I’ve had some time to think about it, I realize that I don’t even care. I don’t need to be right. I don’t need to protect my ego. The only thing that matters is our love for one another and as long as we have love and respect for each other, the rest is miniscule and can be resolved.

I observe and learn from my older brother how to be generous. He owns his own business and works hard labor for his money and then he takes days off to spend with his kids. He constantly is taking them to fun places and takes our parents and I out to dinner. Once his bills are payed each month, he does not stress about how he is spending his money. He lives a generous life and enjoys every day that he is living. I am always impressed by his dedication to his family. When we were young, we grew up with very little and I can see that he is trying to give his kids all the things he never had. He loves his kids more than life itself and is such a good daddy. Even if he didn’t buy them a thing, the point is that he takes every minute he can to spend with this children and he MAKES IT COUNT. I feel so proud that he is my brother and I will always look up to him with admiration for the life he chooses for himself and his children.

 

* P.S. I accidentally pushed publish yesterday when I was still working on it so if you were able to read this a bit early, and then couldn’t find it that is why. LOL. Like I said…make it count! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Make It Count

Leave a Reply

